How is child support calculated in Nevada?
Noncustodial parents in Nevada may want to know how the amount of child support they pay is calculated. The basis for this determination as it is outlined in the Nevada Revised Statutes uses a mathematical formula based on the parent’s gross monthly income. The amount may be adjusted if the noncustodial parent owes support for another child.
A child support obligation in regard to a single child is 18 percent of the noncustodial parent’s income for one child, 25 percent for two children, 29 percent for three children and 31 percent for four children; an additional 2 percent is added for each child beyond the fourth.
Some parents may be supporting children they had with different custodians. If proof is supplied that support is being provided to those children as well, an adjustment may be made to the child support payment currently being calculated. Such proof can include a birth certificate or a previous order of support. An additional accommodation may be made if the noncustodial parent perceives the amount that he or she must pay for health insurance to be burdensome. In this case, the amount provided for in the guideline may be changed.
Child support is carefully calculated to assure that the needs of the child are met, and the court order for child support is enforceable if support payments are not paid on time. If the noncustodial parent fails to pay child support, he or she may face wage garnishment or have tax refunds intercepted to ensure that child support compliance is maintained.
It is important that all required information be provided to the court when child support payments are being calculated. An attorney could help a noncustodial parent provide pertinent information to the court. If the parent feels the child support order is in error, the attorney may help the parent file a request for a conference to resolve such discrepancies.
Source: District Attorney’s Office Family Support Division, “The C.A.R.E. Handbook“, Steven B. Wolfson, July 15, 2013